Info

Baseball by the Book

A veteran baseball writer and editor explores the world of books about baseball through interviews with today's best baseball authors.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
Baseball by the Book
2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: Page 1
Dec 10, 2018

Peter Devereaux takes us on a tour of rare and colorful early baseball cards from the Library of Congress’s Benjamin K. Edwards Collection. The books features 300 images tobacco cards issued between 1887 to 1914.

Featured song: "I've Just Seen a Face," by the Dillards.

Dec 3, 2018

For baseball fans, 1980 was the year of George Brett and Mike Schmidt, Super Joe Charboneau and fireballing J.R. Richard. Author J. Daniel joins us to discuss the Phillies, the Royals and the season that almost ended in a strike. 

Feautred song: "Whip It," by Devo. 

Nov 26, 2018

Philosophy professor Mark Kingwell joins us to discuss his book, which attempts to explain why baseball matters through a series of essays. Kingwell argues there is no better tutor of human failure’s enduring significance than baseball. 

Featured song: "My Philosophy," by Boogie Down Productions.

Nov 19, 2018

Author Mike Sowell joins us to discuss his Casey Award-winning account of Ray Chapman's on-field death in 1920. Sowell's classic book takes an in-depth look at Chapman, Carl Mays, the 1920 pennant race and more.

Featured song: "It's a Shame About Ray," by the Lemonheads. 

Nov 12, 2018

Eddie Dominguez spent six years with MLB's Department of Investigations, looking into PEDs, gambling human trafficking and other crimes. He joins us to discuss the dark side of the national pastime. 

Nov 5, 2018

Jane Leavy, the award-winning biographer of Sandy Koufax and Mickey Mantle, now takes on the biggest ballplayer of 'em all: Babe Ruth. Join us as Leavy discusses how she uncovered previously unknown information about the immortal Bambino.

Oct 29, 2018

When the Dodgers and Giants headed to California following the 1957 season, Major League Baseball increased its national profile and broadened its fan base, author Lincoln Mitchell tells us. The effects of the moves are stilling being felt six decades later. 

Oct 22, 2018

Filip Bondy joins us talk about George Brett's infamous 1983 "pine tar home run" agains Goose Gossage and the Yankees, and incident that set off an absurd and enduring baseball controversyl 

Oct 15, 2018

The Bad News Bears is considered a classic baseball movie. Its 1977 sequel is not. But author Josh Wilker thinks the mostly forgotten tale of Kelly Leak, the Astrodome and a van full of misfits is a quintessential American movie of the 1970s. 

Oct 8, 2018

Rob Neyer returns to the podcast to discuss his new book, which looks at modern baseball through the lens of the single Astros-A's game played in September 2017. It's a work in the tradition of "A Day in the Bleachers" and "Nine Innings."

Oct 4, 2018

Author Brad Snyder joins us to discuss Curt Flood and how his principled stand against the reserve clause set off a chain of events that changed professional sports forever.

Oct 1, 2018

Inspired by The Glory of their Times, author Brendan Donley tracked down the men who played in the classic 1968 World Series. He joins us to discuss the book on the 50th anniversary of the series. 

Sep 24, 2018

Author Kevin Kerrane joins us to talk about his classic book on baseball scouting. Sports Illustrated once ranked Dollar Sign on the Muscle as one of the 100 best sports books of all time.

Sep 20, 2018

100 years ago this month, war raged in Europe, a flu epidemic spread throughout the globe and the Red Sox and Cubs battled in the earliest World Series ever. Author Skip Desjardin joins us to discuss the remarkable series of events. 

Sep 17, 2018

In 1971, a small-town baseball team made a magical run to the Illinois state baseball finals. Author Chris Ballard tells us the amazing tale of the Macon Ironmen and their unlikely coach. 

Sep 10, 2018

Reggie! Reggie! For more than a decade, Mr. October was the center of the baseball universe, finding himself in the middle of controversy and pennant races alike. Dayn Perry joins us discuss the tumultuous life and career of the Hall of Famer. 

Sep 6, 2018

Author Josh Ostergaard takes us on an alternative tour of American history, in which everything from colonialism to the Cold War to 9/11 is represented by baseball.

Aug 30, 2018

Over the last 50 years, Kevin Keating has collected tens of thousands of baseball autographs -- and forged countless relationships with baseball greats. He joins us to discuss his remarkable pursuit of signatures and how it has affected his life.

Aug 27, 2018

On a Sunday afternoon in August 1965, Giants pitcher Juan Marichal struck Dodgers catcher John Roseboro with his bat. Author John Rosengren explains how the violent confrontation would continue to affect both men -- for bad and good -- for the rest of their lives. 

Aug 23, 2018

Author Lew Freedman joins us to discuss the life and legacy of legendary lefty Warren Spahn, one of baseball's greatest pitchers. 

Aug 20, 2018

During the 1890s, Cleveland was home to the rowdiest, fightingest, most hated baseball team in the National League. David Fleitz tells us about the club that gave us Cy Young and ended as the worst team in the game's history. 

Aug 13, 2018

Orioles Magic, feel it happen. From 1979 to 1983, Baltimore was baseball's model franchise, winning two pennants and a World Series while fielding competitive teams each year. Author Charles Kupfer joins us to discuss that remarkable era. 

Aug 9, 2018

The Astros went from national laughingstock to World Series champions in a few short seasons. Ben Reiter of Sports Illustrated joins us to discuss how Houston succeeded by sticking to a sometimes-controversial master plan. 

Aug 6, 2018

America's entry into World War I in 1917 had a major impact on professional baseball, including both the major leagues and the minors. Author Jim Leeke joins us to talk about the national pastime during the Great War. 

Aug 2, 2018

Author Alex Irvine takes us on a graphic and fun-filled trip through the history of the national pastime. Along the way we meet Abner Doubleday, Charlie Pride, Walt Whitman and even Jack Kerouac. 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next » 7