Info

Baseball by the Book

A veteran baseball writer and editor explores the world of books about baseball through interviews with today's best baseball authors.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
Baseball by the Book
2018
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: October, 2018
Oct 15, 2018

The Bad News Bears is considered a classic baseball movie. Its 1977 sequel is not. But author Josh Wilker thinks the mostly forgotten tale of Kelly Leak, the Astrodome and a van full of misfits is a quintessential American movie of the 1970s. 

Oct 8, 2018

Rob Neyer returns to the podcast to discuss his new book, which looks at modern baseball through the lens of the single Astros-A's game played in September 2017. It's a work in the tradition of "A Day in the Bleachers" and "Nine Innings."

Oct 4, 2018

Author Brad Snyder joins us to discuss Curt Flood and how his principled stand against the reserve clause set off a chain of events that changed professional sports forever.

Oct 1, 2018

Inspired by The Glory of their Times, author Brendan Donley tracked down the men who played in the classic 1968 World Series. He joins us to discuss the book on the 50th anniversary of the series. 

1